Abdul Gafoor Mosque
Abdul Gafoor Mosque's charming architecture stands out amidst the surrounding shophouses in the historic Little India district. The living monument testifies to the contributions of Tamil and Baweanese pioneers in the development of colonial Singapore.
Located on Telok Ayer Street, Al-Abrar Mosque is one of Singapore’s oldest mosques. Also known as Chulia Mosque, the mosque serves as a constant reminder of the Chulia immigrants who once lived in the area and played a vital role in developing the budding economy of early colonial Singapore.
Alkaff Upper Serangoon Mosque
Alkaff Upper Serangoon Mosque was constructed by the mercantile and landowning Alkaff family to serve the spiritual needs of the local Muslim community at large. It stands as a reminder of the Arabs' philanthropic deeds and their contributions to colonial Singapore.
Armenian Apostolic Church of Saint Gregory the Illuminator
Singapore's oldest Christian church was the spiritual home of the small but influential Armenian community living here during the colonial period and continues to serve as a reminder of their contributions to the development of Singapore over the years.
Bowyer Block is a standing reminder of the marked improvements in medical facilities during the 1920s. It is also a memorial to those who had given their lives to public healthcare services in Singapore, and in particular, Dr John H. Bowyer.
Cathedral of the Good Shepherd
The Cathedral of the Good Shepherd is Singapore's oldest Catholic place of worship and the seat of the local Roman Catholic archbishop. Not only does it bear testimony to the spread of Catholicism in the region, the edifice also serves as a reminder to the contributions of early Catholic missionaries to the fields of religion, architecture, and education in Singapore.
Central Fire Station
The Central Fire Station is the oldest surviving fire station in Singapore and is a living monument to the local firefighting force.
Changi Prison Gate Wall and Turrets
Changi Prison was designed to be a maximum security prison to house up to 600 criminals sentenced to long-term imprisonment in British Singapore. The remaining structures of the original prison – the entrance gate, wall and turrets – stand as an enduring symbol of the suffering of those who defended Singapore and the tumultuous years of the Japanese Occupation (1942-1945).
Chesed-El Synagogue bears witness to the Singapore Jewish community’s contributions to Singapore’s development since the British colonial period and is also a memorial to the prominent philanthropist Sir Manasseh Meyer.
Chinese High School Clock Tower Building
The Chinese High School Clock Tower Building is the icon of the oldest Chinese-medium high school in Singapore and has been a visual landmark of Bukit Timah Road since its completion. It serves as a reminder of the local Chinese community’s commitment to quality education.
Chung Cheng High School (Main) Administration Building and Entrance Arch
One of Singapore’s oldest Chinese high schools, Chung Cheng High School was among the firsts to make higher education accessible to Chinese youth. The Administration Building and Entrance Arch bear testimony to the Chinese community’s commitment to quality education throughout the years.
Church of Our Lady of Lourdes
Known simply as the Indian Church or Tamil Church in the past, the Church of Our Lady of Lourdes is one of Singapore’s oldest Catholic churches. It bears testimony to the spread of Catholicism in Singapore, especially to the growth of the Tamil Catholic community over the years.
Church of Saints Peter and Paul
The Church of Saints Peter and Paul is one of the oldest Catholic churches in Singapore that catered to a predominantly Chinese congregation. Built more than a century ago, it stands today as a testimony to the spread of the Catholic faith and also to the contributions of Catholic missionaries to education in Singapore.
Church of St Teresa
Originally constructed for the spiritual needs of the Hokkien-speaking Catholics living in the town area, this magnificent edifice testifies to the religious and architectural contributions of Catholic missionaries, and also the growth of the local Chinese Catholic community in the early twentieth century.
Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary
The Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary is one of the earliest Catholic churches built in the suburbs of Singapore. Over the years, the church has faithfully served the spiritual needs of the predominantly Teochew-speaking Catholics living in Hougang, which at a point in time outnumbered the non-Catholic community. It now stands as a living testament not only to the spread of Catholicism, but also to the many contributions of Catholic missionaries in nineteenth-century Singapore.
Civilian War Memorial
This is the first memorial in Singapore dedicated to the civilian victims of the Japanese Occupation (1942–1945). It calls to mind the shared sufferings of the various ethnic communities in Singapore, and the ardent hope that locals had after the war to rebuild their homes.
College of Medicine Building
As Singapore’s first purpose-built medical college, the College of Medicine Building bears witness to the development of local medical services, as well as the progress in Singapore’s tertiary education.
Esplanade Park Memorials
At Esplanade Park are Tan Kim Seng Fountain, the Cenotaph, and Lim Bo Seng Memorial. These three memorials were gazetted collectively as a National Monument.
Former Admiralty House
The Former Admiralty House used to accommodate key military commanders based in Singapore. It bears testimony to the former Singapore Naval Base located in the vicinity and also embodies Singapore’s military history.
Former Attorney-General's Chambers (now Parliament House Block C)
Tucked away in a corner near the Padang is a beautiful structure that once housed the Attorney-General’s Chambers. Today, the building forms part of the Parliament House complex.
Former Cathay Building (now The Cathay)
The Art Deco façade wall fronting the modern glass architecture of The Cathay is the remnant of what used to be Malaya’s tallest building. Previously known as Cathay Building, it was the first skyscraper and the first air-conditioned cinema in Singapore. While the Former Cathay Building was built as a venue for entertainment, it served a much more sombre purpose during the war years.
Former City Hall
Located in the heart of the Civic District, the Former City Hall served as an important government office in Singapore. The impressive building bears witness to Singapore’s colonial past and the Japanese Occupation (1942–1945), as well as to several milestones on its road to independence.
Former Command House
The stately Former Command House's role in Singapore’s military history was of paramount importance, especially at the dawn of the Second World War in Asia in the late 1930s and early 1940s.
Former Convent of the Holy Infant Jesus Chapel and Caldwell House (now CHIJMES)
Affectionately referred to as the Town Convent in the past, this building once housed the oldest Catholic girls’ school in Singapore, founded by the French sisters of the Congregation of the Holy Infant Jesus in 1854.
Former Empress Place Building (now Asian Civilisations Museum)
Situated at the mouth of the Singapore River, the Former Empress Place Building was an important government building in Singapore up to the 1980s. Constructed by Indian convicts, the building once housed key administrative departments.
Former Ford Factory
As Ford Motor Company’s first automobile assembly plant in Southeast Asia, this building bore witness to the booming manufacturing industry in Singapore in the twentieth century. The building is also remembered as the location where the British unconditionally surrendered Singapore to the Japanese in 1942.
Former Fullerton Building
The former Fullerton Building is a prominent landmark situated at the mouth of the Singapore River. Most well remembered as the General Post Office (GPO) and having housed several government departments, this building has been a witness to many of Singapore’s milestones.
Former Hill Street Police Station
Nicknamed the ‘Police Skyscraper’ in the past, the Former Hill Street Police Station is prominently located at the junction of Hill Street and River Valley Road. The building served as a police station and also housed accommodation for officers and their families. A monument to the police force in Singapore, the edifice was once the largest of its kind in Malaya.
Former Keng Teck Whay Building
The Former Keng Teck Whay Building building stands as a witness to the presence and contributions of the Hokkien Peranakans (Straits Chinese) in colonial Singapore and to the community spirit of mutual aid among the pioneers.
Former Ministry of Labour Building (now Family Justice Courts)
The edifice bears witness to Singapore’s judiciary system today and also calls to mind the period of the influx of Chinese immigrants in the colonial era and their contributions to Singapore.
Former Nagore Dargah
Erected by the Chulia community, this magnificent building testifies to their presence in Chinatown in the past and also to their contributions to early colonial Singapore's economy.
Former Nanyang University Library and Administration Building, Memorial and Arch
Nanyang University (南洋大学), affectionately known as Nantah (南大), was the first Chinese-language university in Southeast Asia and the second university in Singapore. Not only do the Former Nanyang University Library and Administration Building, Memorial, and Arch serve as remembrances of the original Nantah, they also bear witness to the relentless efforts and contributions of the local Chinese community towards making tertiary education accessible to Chinese-speaking youth.
Former Parliament House and Annex Building (now The Arts House)
The Former Parliament House is likely to be the oldest surviving building in Singapore. It bears testimony to Singapore’s colonial history and played an important political function in the country’s post-independence years.
Former Raffles College (now NUS Campus at Bukit Timah)
As the first college for the arts and sciences in British Malaya, the campus bears testimony to the commitment of the British Administration and philanthropists to provide quality tertiary education for the locals.
Former Saint Joseph's Institution (now Singapore Art Museum)
Saint Joseph's Institution is the oldest Catholic boys’ school in Singapore and was founded by the Christian Brothers (formally known as the Institute of the Brothers of the Christian Schools).
Former Singapore Conference Hall and Trade Union House (now Singapore Conference Hall)
The Former Singapore Conference Hall and Trade Union House was constructed to house the headquarters of the National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) as the fulfilment of an election promise, as well as to host various exhibitions and conferences.
Former Siong Lim Temple (now Lian Shan Shuang Lin Monastery)
The traditional architecture of Lian Shan Shuang Lin Monastery stands out amidst the modern high-rise apartment blocks in the Toa Payoh neighbourhood. The monastery complex houses one of Singapore’s oldest Buddhist temples and testifies to the spread of Mahayana Buddhism in the region.
Former St James Power Station
The Former Saint James Power Station was the first coal-fired power station on the island. While the building no longer produces electricity, it remains a standing monument to Singapore’s modernisation and urban development during the colonial era.
Former Sun Yat Sen Villa (now Sun Yat Sen Nanyang Memorial Hall)
Sun Yat-sen Nanyang Memorial Hall is one of the few surviving examples of villas that were once common sights in British Singapore. It serves as a reminder of the contributions of Chinese pioneers and their historic connection to the 1911 Chinese Revolution.
Former Supreme Court
Amidst the colonial buildings and skyscrapers of the Civic District rises the copper-green dome of the Former Supreme Court. Once housing the highest court in Singapore, the Former Supreme Court is situated next to the Former City Hall in front of the Padang. It is also the last grand Neoclassical building constructed during Singapore’s colonial era.
Former Tanjong Pagar Railway Station
The Former Tanjong Pagar Railway Station was previously the southernmost terminal station of the Federated Malay States Railways. While the stately building no longer serves its original function, it continues to bear testimony to the rapid development of trade, industry, and transport in the colonial period, as well as to Singapore’s historical ties with Malaysia.
Former Tao Nan School (now The Peranakan Museum)
This was the first modern Chinese school in Singapore and one of the earliest of its kind in the Straits Settlements. The beautiful three-storey building is a testimony to the local Chinese community’s commitment to education and the modernisation of Chinese education in twentieth-century Singapore.
Former Telok Ayer Market (now known as Lau Pa Sat)
Affectionately known as Lau Pa Sat (老巴刹, ‘Old Market’) by generations of Singaporeans, the Former Telok Ayer Market was one of Singapore’s oldest markets. The iconic structure is the only survivor of the five markets that used to serve residents living in Singapore’s town area.
Former Thong Chai Medical Institution
Home to the first free traditional Chinese medical clinic for the poor in Singapore, the Former Thong Chai Medical Institution testifies to the Chinese pioneers’ spirit of mutual assistance and their generosity towards the poor and needy.
Located on the western tip of Pulau Blakang Mati (known today as Sentosa Island), Fort Siloso was one of the many coastal fortifications built around the 19th century by the British and remains the most intact fortification in Singapore. The Fort was built on Mount Siloso, where the name “Siloso” is said to be derived from a Malayan word meaning “rock”, a possible reference to the rock outcrops that once stood at the western entrance to the present-day Keppel Harbour.
Goodwood Park Hotel (Tower Block)
The Tower Wing of the present-day Goodwood Park Hotel was home to the German Teutonia Club, one of the earliest European national clubs in Singapore. It is a prominent landmark in the Orchard area for its unique architecture. The charming structure serves as a reminder of the Germans’ contributions to trade in early colonial Singapore, and of the impact of the First World War on the local German community.
Hajjah Fatimah Mosque
Hajjah Fatimah Mosque is one of the oldest mosques in Singapore, a rare example of one named after a woman. Its unique eclectic architecture stands out from other mosques in Singapore, especially with its distinctively European-style minaret, which tilts slightly. The mosque bears testimony to the once thriving Muslim communities living in the vicinity who made significant contributions particularly to colonial Singapore’s economy.
Hong San See
Hong San See was established by Hokkien immigrants from Nan’an County in Fujian Province, China. It exemplifies the spirit of solidarity and organisation of the early Hokkien community in Singapore and bears testimony to their contributions.
House of Tan Yeok Nee
The Chinese-style Former House of Tan Yeok Nee is the sole survivor of the ‘Four Grand Mansions’ that were built by Teochew towkays (businessmen) in late nineteenth-century Singapore. The former residence is a monument to the contributions of early Chinese immigrants, as well as the various groups of occupants who were committed to the welfare of people resident in Singapore.
Istana Kampong Gelam
Within the historic district of Kampong Gelam lies Istana Kampong Gelam (‘Gelam Village Palace’). Once the palace of the Malay royalty and the seat of sultanate in Singapore, the Istana bears testimony to Singapore’s historical links to the Malay world.
Jamae Mosque is one of the oldest mosques in Singapore and serves as a reminder of the considerably large population of Chulia immigrants who had settled in the Chinatown district and their crucial role in the development of colonial Singapore’s fledgling economy.
Jurong Town Hall
On a hill overlooking Jurong estate, Jurong Town Hall once served as the headquarters of Jurong Town Corporation. It is emblematic of Jurong Town’s rapid growth during Singapore’s industrialisation in the post-independence years.
MacDonald House is perhaps most remembered as the target of a tragic bombing during the Indonesian-Malaysian Konfrontasi (Confrontation).
Maghain Aboth Synagogue
Located in the former Jewish neighbourhood, Maghain Aboth Synagogue is the oldest surviving synagogue in Southeast Asia. It is a living monument that bears witness to the contributions of the small but close-knit Jewish community in Singapore since the British colonial period.
National Museum of Singapore
With its wide façade and large dome, the National Museum of Singapore has been a prominent landmark on Stamford Road for over a century. It is Singapore’s oldest existing museum, devoted to the general history of Singapore. The grand edifice is a testament to Singapore’s role as a centre of academic research in the region since the nineteenth century.
Prinsep Street Presbyterian Church
Prinsep Street Presbyterian Church is one of Singapore’s oldest Presbyterian churches. Its unique façade stands out from the modern buildings surrounding it, serving as a reminder of the contributions of early Protestant missionaries in colonial Singapore, as well as the spread of Protestantism in the region. The church is also the birthplace of The Boys’ Brigade Movement in Singapore.
Raffles Hotel is one of the most well-known luxury hotels in Singapore and the oldest surviving establishment of its kind on the island. It is a living witness to the boom in tourism in the late nineteenth- and early twentieth-centuries, and also testifies to the contributions of Singapore’s small but significant Armenian community during the early years of British Singapore.
Saint Andrew's Cathedral
Saint Andrew's Cathedral is Singapore’s oldest surviving Anglican place of worship and is the seat of the Anglican bishop of Singapore. The magnificent edifice has stood the test of time, bearing witness to the spread of Anglicanism in the region. It also testifies to the contributions of the local Scottish, English, and Indian communities to the growth and development of colonial Singapore.
Saint George's Church
Founded as a garrison church, this church bears witness to the area’s history during the colonial period as Tanglin Barracks, which was the General Headquarters of the British Far East Land Forces.
Singapore River Bridges: Cavenagh Bridge, Anderson Bridge and Elgin Bridge
Cavenagh, Anderson and Elgin Bridges are the three most historic and architecturally impressive bridges that span the Singapore River. Collectively, they illustrate Singapore’s growth as a trading port and flourishing city. Located at the historic mouth of the Singapore River, the bridges symbolically connected Singapore with the world as they facilitated the trade and transport links necessary for the growth of the city.
Sri Mariamman Temple
Together with Jamae Mosque, Sri Mariamman Temple – Singapore’s oldest Hindu temple – is an enduring icon on South Bridge Road which is a part of Chinatown. Both monuments testify to the significant Tamil population that once lived in the vicinity, and are constant reminders of their contributions to Singapore’s development as a British colony.
Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple
Formerly known as Sri Narasimha Perumal Temple, Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple is the first Hindu temple in Singapore dedicated to Sri Perumal, the Hindu deity more commonly known as Vishnu. Even though the impressive structure standing today was built in the 1960s, the temple is one of Singapore’s oldest Hindu temples in terms of establishment.
Sri Thendayuthapani Temple
Sri Thendayuthapani Temple, commonly referred to as the Chettiars’ Temple, is one of Singapore’s oldest Hindu temples dedicated to Murugan, the Hindu deity who is also known as Sri Thendayuthapani. It stands as a living testimony to the Chettiars’ contributions to Singapore’s colonial economy.
St Joseph's Church
Saint Joseph’s Church was the headquarters of the Portuguese Mission in Singapore. The church was situated in what used to be the European town in colonial Singapore. The church edifice is not only a monument to the contributions of the Portuguese and Portuguese Eurasian communities, but also to the Catholic missionaries’ commitment to provide education for children.
Formerly the royal mosque of the Sultan of Johor, Sultan Mosque represents the solidarity and unity of Muslims in Singapore. The impressive building serves as a reminder of the Malay royalty that was once housed in the nearby Istana Kampong Glam and the thriving Muslim communities living in the area during the British colonial period.
Tan Si Chong Su
The history of Tan Si Chong Su (陈氏宗祠, ‘Ancestral Hall of the Tan Clan’) is inextricably linked to the influx of Chinese immigrants into Singapore during the late nineteenth century. It testifies to the contributions of the Chinese community to colonial Singapore’s growth and development.
Tan Teck Guan Building
Tan Teck Guan Building testifies to the contributions of pioneers to medical education in Singapore, which in turn advanced the local medical service and encouraged the development of local tertiary education.
Telok Ayer Chinese Methodist Church
Originally known as the Chinese Methodist Church, Telok Ayer Chinese Methodist Church was the first church established to cater exclusively to the spiritual needs of the Chinese Methodist community in Singapore. It bears testimony to the growth and development of the local Methodist Church and also serves as a reminder of the contributions of early Christian missionaries in Singapore.
The Istana and Sri Temasek
The Istana is the official residence of the President of the Republic of Singapore. On its well-manicured grounds stand the Main Building (commonly called the Istana), Sri Temasek, Istana Villa, and The Lodge. The former two buildings are particularly significant: not only have they been graced by numerous local and foreign dignitaries through the years, they have also witnessed milestones and important events in Singapore’s history. Together, they represent the sovereignty of Singapore as an independent state.
The Padang (‘field’ in Malay) is one of the oldest open spaces in Singapore and part of the area reserved for government use after the establishment of the British settlement in 1819.
Thian Hock Keng
Thian Hock Keng (天福宫, ‘Palace of Heavenly Happiness’) is one of Singapore’s oldest Hokkien temples. It is located near Al-Abrar Mosque, Former Nagore Dargah, and Telok Ayer Chinese Methodist Church, standing on what used to be the shoreline of Telok Ayer Basin.
Tou Mu Kung
Tou Mu Kung (斗母宫) is the oldest temple in Singapore dedicated to the Taoist deity Jiu Huang Ye (九皇爷, ‘Nine Emperors’ or ‘Ninth Emperor’). Besides serving the spiritual needs of both the Hokkien and Teochew communities in its vicinity, the temple also attracts huge crowds of devotees from all around the island, particularly during the grand festivities held in honour of Jiu Huang Ye during the ninth month of the lunar calendar.
Victoria Theatre and Victoria Concert Hall
In the heart of Singapore’s historic Civic District stand the magnificent Victoria Theatre and Victoria Concert Hall with the iconic clock tower. As two of Singapore’s oldest existing purpose-built performance venues, the twin buildings are often remembered as favourite locations for theatrical productions and concerts.
Ying Fo Fui Kun
Ying Fo Fui Kun exemplifies the spirit of solidarity within the early Hakka community and serves as a reminder of their contributions to Singapore’s development over the years.
Yueh Hai Ching Temple
Also known as Wak Hai Cheng Bio in Teochew, the temple serves as a reminder of the contributions of Teochew Chinese pioneers who arrived in Singapore shortly after the arrival of the British in 1819.
Army Museum of Singapore
The Army Museum of Singapore (ARMS) is situated around the serene lake in the SAFTI Military Institute. Visitors to ARMS will embark on a fascinating journey and witness the development of the Singapore Army.
Embracing a spectrum of influences from art & science, to media & technology, to design & architecture, ArtScience Museum at Marina Bay Sands is the premier museum destination in Singapore for major international travelling exhibitions from the most renowned collections in the world.
Asian Civilisations Museum
Located by the historic Singapore River, the Asian Civilisations Museum (ACM) is devoted to preserving the cultural heritage of Asia, especially the ancestral cultures of Singaporeans. These include China, Southeast Asia, India, and the Islamic world. More recently, the museum has focused on the long historical connections between cultures.
Changi Chapel and Museum
The Changi Chapel and Museum (CCM) was revamped and opened in May 2021. It features new content and artefacts presented in an intimate and engaging format to tell the story of the prisoners of war and civilians interned in Changi prison camp during the Japanese Occupation.
Chinatown Heritage Centre
The colourful past of Chinatown comes alive within the walls of these three beautifully-restored shophouses on Pagoda Street, comfortably nestled in the midst of Singapore's bustling Chinatown district.
Chinese Heritage Centre
The Chinese Heritage Centre is an autonomous research institute of Nanyang Technological University. It is the first and only university institute in the world that specializes in the study of Chinese overseas. It serves as a research centre, a library and a museum. It brings you two engaging exhibitions that evolve around the ethnic Chinese outside of China.
Civil Defence Heritage Gallery
The Civil Defence Heritage Gallery traces fire fighting and civil defence developments in Singapore from the late 1800s till modern day, and is intended as a twin vehicle for showcasing the Singapore Civil Defence Force's (SCDF) proud and long history, as well as heightening public awareness of civil defence.
Eurasian Heritage Gallery
The mission of the Eurasian Heritage Gallery is to preserve and share Eurasian heritage and culture.
Former Ford Factory
The Former Ford Factory was Ford Motor Company’s first Southeast Asian car assembly plant. Today, it is a prominent historical and architectural landmark, most remembered as the site where the British surrendered Singapore to the Japanese on 15 February 1942.
Built in the 1880s as part of a ring of British fortresses guarding the Singapore harbour, Fort Siloso is the sole surviving coastal fort. Over 100 years old, the fort stands as an important window to our colonial past and a poignant reminder of the war years.
Fuk Tak Chi Museum
Visit Singapore’s first street museum – Fu Tak Chi Museum lovingly restored by craftsman from China and Malaysia to recreate the spirit of that era.
Gan Heritage Centre
Gan Heritage Centre presents an illustration and documentation of the story of the Gan Clan from the etymological origins of the Gan surname to its present status.
The Gem Museum is the first and foremost comprehensive gems and minerals museum in Singapore, open to the public.
Home Team Gallery
The Home Team Gallery is a common repository for all the Home Team Departments and Statutory Boards to showcase their respective operational achievements and heritage.
Indian Heritage Centre
The Indian Heritage Centre is the first museum in Southeast Asia to focus on the diverse heritage of the Indian community. The four-storey architectural gem stands in the heart of the historic Little India precinct.
IRAS Gallery - The Singapore Tax Story
Discover how tax has evolved in Singapore in the past, present and future through a highly interactive experience that allows visitors to discover much of this story for themselves.
Istana Heritage Gallery
The Istana Heritage Gallery offers visitors a glimpse into the rich history and heritage of the Istana, a national monument whose history was closely intertwined with Singapore’s transition into an independent nation.
Lee Kong Chian Natural History Museum
Based at the National University of Singapore, the Lee Kong Chian Natural History Museum houses Singapore's national and reference collection of preserved zoological specimens as well as the University's herbarium.
The HDB LIVINGSPACE gallery is a one-stop destination that chronicles the evolution of public housing in Singapore. It features HDB’s journey in providing well-designed, sustainable and community-centric homes. Through the gallery, visitors can learn more about Singapore’s public housing story.
Malay Heritage Centre
Officially opened by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong in June 2005, the Malay Heritage Centre (MHC) provides wonderful cultural exposure and learning opportunities for visitors of all ages and interests.
The Marina Barrage is a dam built across the Marina Channel, forming Singapore’s first reservoir in the city.
Ministry of Education Heritage Centre
MOE Heritage Centre showcases Singapore’s Education Story from the early 19th century to the present.
Mint Museum of Toys
Mint Museum of Toys is the world’s first purpose-built museum for toys, showcasing an extensive collection of vintage toys and childhood memorabilia from more than 40 countries, spanning over 170 years.
National Gallery Singapore
National Gallery Singapore is a visual arts institution which oversees the largest public collection of modern art in Singapore and Southeast Asia.
National Healthcare Group Polyclinics’ Gallery of Memories
This museum traces the growth of NHGP from a network of Maternal and Child Health clinics and Outpatient Dispensaries in the late 19th century to a leader in primary healthcare provision today.
National Library Singapore
A knowledge icon in the heart of Singapore’s civic, cultural and arts district where our unique history and multi-cultural heritage is captured, preserved and celebrated, National Library Singapore wants to share its rich heritage — past, present and future with visitors.
National Museum of Singapore
With a history dating back to its inception in 1887, the National Museum of Singapore is the nation’s oldest museum with a progressive mind. Its galleries adopt cutting-edge and multi-perspective ways of presenting history and culture to redefine conventional museum experience.
NEWater Visitor Centre
Discover what NEWater is, where it comes from and how it contributes to Singapore’s water story at the NEWater Visitor Centre.
Ngee Ann Cultural Centre
Ngee Ann Kongsi Collections is an art gallery displaying Chinese calligraphy & painting, oil painting, water colour painting and 3D & photography works by renowned local and overseas artists.
NUS Baba House
Baba House managed by NUS Museum is a heritage home which facilitates research and learning about the Peranakan community and its evolution.
Explore a collection of over 7,000 artefacts and artworks which are divided across four collections.
Police Heritage Centre
Visitors can expect captivating exhibits and a myriad of multimedia displays that recreate over 180 years of the Singapore Police Force’s (SPF) rich history.
Red Dot Design Museum
Red Dot Design Museum in Germany and Singapore presents the world's largest exhibition of contemporary design.
Reflections at Bukit Chandu
Reflections at Bukit Chandu is a World War Two interpretative centre that commemorates the battle of Pasir Panjang and the men of the Malay Regiment who fought in it, as well as the history of Bukit Chandu itself. Housed in a bungalow that is closely connected to the site's history, the interpretative centre uses immersive experiences and contextual artefacts to present a multi-faceted look at Bukit Chandu and Pasir Panjang, while inviting visitors to reflect on our nation’s wartime experience and the brave sacrifice of the soldiers.
Republic of Singapore Airforce Museum
The Air Force Museum captures the spirit and heritage of the RSAF. The first museum was established at Changi Air Base on 1 Sep 1988. Two years later, an expansion programme was initiated to cater to RSAF's growing heritage needs. Subsequently, the museum was relocated to a brand new building in Paya Lebar.
Republic of Singapore Navy Museum
Take a trip down memory lane and find out more about what makes the Republic of Singapore Navy a modern and integrated maritime fighting force-the naval platforms it possesses and arsenal that they pack.
Science Centre Singapore
Science Centre Singapore is a well-loved institution dedicated to the promotion of science and technology.
Land Transport Gallery
The Land Transport Gallery, which opened on 18 January 2008, provides visitors with a visual and sensory experience of Singapore’s transport development.
Singapore Art Museum
The Singapore Art Museum (SAM) focuses on contemporary art practice in Singapore, Southeast Asia and Asia within the global context. It advocates and makes accessible interdisciplinary contemporary art through research-led and evolving curatorial practice.
Singapore City Gallery
First opened in 1999, the Singapore City Gallery tells the story of Singapore's physical transformation over the past 50 years. Make time for highlights like the panoramic sights and sound show, A Day in Singapore and the Central Area Model Light and Sound Show. Or be awed by the architectural models or the various interactive and experiential exhibits in the gallery.
Singapore Maritime Gallery
The Gallery, among other things, provides insights into Maritime Singapore to help visitors understand the story of contemporary Maritime Singapore, its importance to Singapore’s economy, and the diverse range of exciting and rewarding career options it offers.
Singapore Philatelic Museum
Discover the world through the postage stamp! Postage stamps are miniature pieces of art featuring significant events, history, heritage and cultures of countries. Come and find out about Singapore and other countries through colourful and interactive exhibitions. A great place for families and children looking for a fun yet educational experience!
Singapore Sports Museum
The Singapore Sports Museum was first established in 1983 and it is a place where sporting dreams are celebrated. The Singapore Sports Museum ensures that the legacy and heritage of sports in Singapore is preserved well into the future..
Singapore Discovery Centre
Singapore Discovery Centre (SDC) is Singapore’s state-of-the-art ‘edutainment’ attraction. It features five main galleries equipped with informative demonstrations and brilliant digital-animation communicating the key milestone events that shaped Singapore. Discover our values, places and people – from post-independence to the present day.
Sun Yat Sen Nanyang Memorial Hall
Sun Yat Sen Nanyang Memorial Hall (SYSNMH), a heritage institution under the National Heritage Board, traces Dr. Sun's revolutionary activities in the Southeast Asian region and highlights the impact of the 1911 Chinese Revolution on Singapore as well as Singapore's contributions to the Revolution.
Tan Tock Seng Hospital’s Heritage Museum
Honouring the legacy of the hospital’s founder, Mr Tan Tock Seng, the museum features a collection of the founder’s Peranakan items as well as artefacts from the hospital from the mid-1800s.
The Battle Box
The underground bunker, constructed in the late 1930s, was the largest underground military operations complex in Singapore and part of the British Far East Command Headquarters during World War II.
The Grassroots Heritage Centre
Showcasing four decades of significant milestones in community development, the Grassroots Heritage Centre traces the exciting growth of the People’s Association (PA) and its grassroots organisations through moving historical accounts, pictures, audio reels, exhibits and artefacts.
With a deep love for all things Peranakan, owner, collector, and 7th generation Peranakan, Alvin Yapp, has turned his passion into a haven for this fascinating and ever-adapting culture. Over the past 20 years, his Peranakan antique collection has evolved into both a personal and community focused vision of the Peranakan culture. Take a memorable journey into the history, traditions & lifestyle of the Peranakans!
The Peranakan Museum explores the culture of Peranakan communities in Southeast Asia. Installed in the former Tao Nan Chinese School which was built in 1912, this intimate museum possesses one of the finest and most comprehensive collections of Peranakan objects. Galleries on three floors illustrate the cultural traditions and the distinctive visual arts of the Peranakans.
The Private Museum
THE PRIVATE MUSEUM is a registered charity and a registered Institution of a Public Character (IPC) founded by Singaporean philanthropist and real estate developer, Daniel Teo.
The SGH Museum
Housed in the Bowyer Block, an architectural landmark in the Outram Campus, the SGH Museum is a repository of artefacts and records, where visitors can trace the long and rich history of the Singapore General Hospital.
In 1841, the Insane Hospital was the earliest establishment for the mentally-ill in Singapore. With a humble 30-bed setup, the hospital was located at the junction of Bras Basah Road and Bencoolen Street. As the hospital evolved and occupied 145 hectares of land, the word ‘insane’ was avoided and the place was renamed as The Mental Hospital in 1928. The Hospital was even used during World War II as the Japanese Civilian and Military Hospital.
Alexandra Hospital, opened in 1940, stands on the site of an earlier Alexandra Indian barracks which was established around 1908. The new military hospital was built to serve the increased number of British troops stationed in Singapore, as part of British preparation for a war in Singapore.
The Anglo-Chinese School (ACS) was founded by Rev. William Fitzjames Oldham in 1886 at a shophouse in Amoy Street. Starting with 13 students, the school aimed to provide an education for the many boys Bishop Fitzjames saw wandering aimlessly in the streets.
Balestier Road, from which Balestier Plain takes its name, was named after Joseph Balestier, a keen botanist and agriculturist who arrived in Singapore in 1834.
Battle at Adam Park
Adam park estate was the site of intense fighting between British forces and the invading Japanese army in February 1942, in the last days before the British surrendered Singapore.
Battle at Kranji Beach
Kranji Beach Battle was one of the battles in the defence of Northwestern Singapore between the Australian 22nd Brigade and the Japanese Imperial Guards Division.
Battle at Pasir Panjang
The Battle at Pasir Panjang, where the harbour and British military depots were the coveted gains, marked one of the last battles for Singapore. It lasted from 12 to 14 February 1942.
A craggy granite rock outcrop known in Malay as "Batu Berlayar" ("Sailing Rock") used to stand on this shore. Another rock outcrop also used to stand on the opposite shore of Tanjong Rimau on Sentosa Island.
Beach Road Police Station
In the early 1900s, Singapore grew rapidly and the crime rate rose with the city's expansion. Harold Fariburn - the Inspector - General of Police from 1925 to 1935 - realised that the Police needed a programme of modernisation and expansion.
Bukit Batok Memorials
Two memorials, one for the Japanese soldiers and the other for Allied Soldiers sat on top on this hill-top. The former was Syonan Chureito, built by 500 Allied Prisoners of War while the latter was a wooden cross that stood behind.
Battle at Bukit Timah
One of the fiercest military encounters during WWII took place here as the Bukit Timah area held strategic and tactical importance to the Japanese and the British.
Central Sikh Temple
Also known as the Wadda Gurdwara, this Sikh temple was the first set up in a bungalow at Queen Street in 1912. The temple is now relocated at Towner Road.
Changi Beach Massacre
66 Chinese male civilians were killed by Japanese hojo kempei (auxiliary military police) firing squads at the water's edge on this stretch of Changi Beach on 20 February, 1942.
The Changi Murals, located at Block 151 of Changi Camp (Martlesham Road), were symbols of the hope and faith of Prisoners-of-War (POW) interred in the camp during the Japanese Occupation (1942-1945).
Chen Wen Hsi Historic Marker
One of Singapore’s first-generation artists, Chen Wen His's body of work is internationally and locally acclaimed.
Chui Eng Free School
Also known as the Chinese Free School, this school for boys in the Hokkien community was built in 1854 and endowed by Tan Kim Seng, a wealthy Straits Chinese merchant. It closed down in 1954.
Clifford Pier was the landing point of sea passengers and immigrants who came to seek a new life of hope in Singapore.
Custom House, Maxwell Road
Custom House is representative of the style and architecture of buildings designed by the PWD under the leadership of Frank Domington Ward, the Chief Architect.
Danish Seamen's Church (Former Golden Bell Mansion)
Completed in 1910 by philanthropist Tan Boo Liat, great-grandson of Tan Tock Seng, the former Golden Bell Mansion was named after Tan Boo Liat’s grandfather Tan Kim Ching, whose name means golden bell.
Deng Xiaoping Historic Marker
Originally known as Deng Xiansheng and his school name Deng Xixian, Deng Xiaoping was born on 22 August 1904 in Guang'an County, Sichuan Province.
Ee Hoe Hean Club
Founded in 1895, it is one of the oldest millionaires club in Singapore. The club was the centre of the Chinese Salvation Movement in Southeast Asia from 1937-1942. Originally located at Duxton Hill, it moved to Club Street before settling at this location in 1952.
Execution of Captured Rimau Commandos Historic Marker
Operation Rimau (“tiger” in Malay) was the second Allied commando attack that targeted Japanese ships in Keppel Harbour. It took place from late September to early October 1944 during the Second World War.
Farrer Park Field
This was the site of the first race course in Singapore. It held weekly horse races and was a popular recreational place among European residents.
Force 136 Historic Marker
Force 136 was a British secret service team that operated in Malaya during the Second World War. One of the agents was Lim Bo Seng, who led Gustavus V Operation in 1943. His grave is in the vicinity.
Fort Canning Command Centre
Fort Canning Command Centre comprises an underground fortress network of bunkers and tunnels. It was constructed in the late 1930s to serve as a combined command and control centre for the British and Allied forces in Malaya.
Fuk Tak Chi
Reputedly the first Chinese temple in Singapore, it grew from a small shrine set up here by the Hakka and Cantonese immigrants in 1824. The temple also became an association that looked after the interest of the two dialect groups.
Gan Eng Seng School
In 1885, Gan Eng Seng founded a free school for poor boys in Singapore. Initially named the Anglo-Chinese Free School, it was among the earliest schools to offer a bilingual education. The school moved to its first new building about 50 metres behind Telok Ayer Chinese Methodist Church in 1893. It became known as Gan Eng Seng School in 1923.
Geylang Serai is the social centre of the Malays in Singapore. This once agricultural area was known for the fragrant lemon grass - Serai - grown as a cash crop by the Malays who were resettled from the Singapore River mouth in the 1840s. The name Geylang Serai is said to be derived from a lemon grass factory "Kilang Serai" located east of Kallang River.
Havelock Road Camp / River Valley Road Camp
The area bounded by River Valley Road and Havelock Road was occupied by Prisoner-of-War (POW) camps during the Japanese Occupation (1942-1945). The Havelock Road/River Valley Road camps comprised groups of dilapidated attap huts which housed thousands of POWs.
Indian National Army Memorial
This World War Two plaque was erected in 1995 to mark the site of the original Memorial, dedicated to the "unknown warrior" of the INA and to the other INA members who were involved and killed in the fighting in Burma.
Institute of Mental Health
Established in 1928 as The Mental Hospital, off Yio Chu Kang Road. Convalescent Hospital during WW2. Named Woodbridge in 1951 after a wooden bridge. Expansion during 1950s-70s. Moved to new premises at Buangkok View in 1993.
Jalan Besar Stadium
Jalan Besar Stadium was Singapore’s main football arena until the National Stadium opened. It also hosted various national events, such as Singapore Youth Festival and National Day Parade.
Japanese Propaganda Department Headquarters
Formerly housing the British Malaya Broadcasting Corporations before WWII, it was turned into a Japanese propaganda office during the Japanese Occupation. It was later also used by Lord Louis Mountbatten as the headquarters for the Japanese Surrender in 1945.
Johore Battery was built in the late 1930s as part of Singapore’s coastal defence system. It comprised three 15-inch guns, known as “monster guns”. Although the battery was meant to stop enemy attacks from the sea, two of its guns could be rotated to fire landward.
Joseph Conrad Historic Marker
Joseph Conrad, the renowned English master writer, was of Polish origin and travelled to Singapore and south east asia during his seafaring days. He made Singapore and Southeast asia better known to the world through his writings.
Jurong-Kranji Defence Line
This was an arbitrary defence line from Kranji River to Jurong River, placed to check Japanese advance towards the city from the west.
Old Kallang Airport
On 1 July 1960, the People's Association took over its main building as its headquarters and remained there till April 2009.
Back in 1861 when piped gas was first introduced, gas was produced using coal as a feedstock. Kallang Gasworks' location by the bank of Rochor River was an ideal choice for easy delivery of coal by boat from neighbouring countries.
Former Kandang Kerbau Hospital
Kandang Kerbau Hospital, the birthplace of over 1.2 million Singaporeans, was the largest maternity hospital in the world from the early 1950s to the early 1970s.
Built in the 1930s, Katong Park was the site of a bomb explosion on 24 September 1963. This marked the beginning of Konfrontasi (confrontation) when Indonesia, led by Sukarno, opposed the formation of Malaysia which, until 1965, included Singapore.
Kempeitai East District Branch
The original building, the YMCA, was used by the East Branch of the Kempeitai (Japanese Military Police) during the Japanese Occupation.
Keppel Harbour has been a thriving maritime gateway for international trade since the late 19th century. It was originally known as New Harbour and was renamed in honour of Admiral Henry Keppel in 1900. From 1939 to the early 1940s, Allied soldiers came through this harbour to strengthen the defence of Singapore and the rest of Malaya.
Kwan Im Thong Hood Cho Temple
This temple was built in 1884, showcasing a fine example of Chinese temple architecture and traditional craftsmanship. The temple played an important role in providing refuge for the sick, the wounded and the homeless during the Japanese Occupation.
This is one of the surviving gun emplacements in Singapore today. The battery has two 6” 16-ton guns facing south, which aided the Malay Regiment in the Battle for Pasir Panjang by firing high explosive shells at the advancing Japanese troops along the coast.
Former Lower Barracks
From 1881, Sikh men began arriving in Singapore as part of the Straits Settlement Police’s Sikh Contingent. Along with the Upper Barracks at the top of this hill, this 5-Storey building was completed in 1934 to house the men.
Lower Peirce Reservoir
This is Singapore’s second impounding reservoir. Originally known as the Kallang River Reservoir, it was renamed Peirce Reservoir in 1922 and again renamed Lower Peirce Reservoir in 1975.
Completed in the 1860s, this reservoir was part of the first public water supply system implemented in Singapore. Its construction was assisted by the financial contribution of Tan Kim Seng, a straits Chinese merchant.
This bridge, the first to be built after the Japanese Occupation, was a sign of Singapore’s growing affluence and hope for a properous future. Officially opened on 17 August 1956, the 2,000-foot structure was the longest pre-stressed bridge in Southeast Asia.
Methodist Girls' School
Founded in 1887 by Miss Sophia Blackmore, an Australian missionary, the school began as Tamil Girls’ School in Short Street with an enrolment of 9 Indian girls.
Middle Road Church
Built between 1870-75, the Middle Road Church was first known as the Christian Institute. When it was officially inaugurated as the Malay Church in 1894, it became the first Straits Chinese Methodist Church in Singapore.
Officially opened on 8 August 1963, this theatre was built to commemorate the attainment of Singapore’s self-government in 1959. It was demolished in 1986 due to structural reasons.
Alexandra Hospital, opened in 1940, stands on the site of an earlier Alexandra Indian barracks which was established around 1908. The new military hospital was built to serve the increased number of British troops stationed in Singapore, as part of British preparation for a war in Singapore.
Omar Kampong Malacca Mosque
Established in 1820, Omar Kampong Malacca Mosque is Singapore’s oldest mosque. In the 1850s, the original timber structure made way for the current building to accommodate the mosque’s growing needs.
Outram Road Prison
Built in 1847, this is Singapore’s first civil and only large prison facility until Changi prison was build in 1936. It was also the first regular female prison and was once used for the public execution of prisoners.
Oversea-Chinese Banking Corporation
OCBC bank was formed on 31st October 1932 in the midst of the great depression to serve the local community.
Pasir Panjang Machine-Gun Pillbox
Pillboxes were built in the 1930s to strengthen Singapore’s coastal defence as part of British preparation for a war in Singapore. The pillboxes were equipped with machine guns and positioned at strategic intervals to allow their fields of fires to overlap and reinforce each other.
Pearl’s Hill School
Established in 1876 at Cross Street and formerly known as the Singapore Chinese Branch School, Pearl’s hill Primary School was among the pioneer batch of Government Schools set up by the colonial government. The school ceased it operations at its Pearl’s site on 31 December in 2001.
Peoples’ Defence Force Headquarters
In the early days of the SAF and Singapore’s independence, the Singapore Infantry Regiment and the PDF shouldered the duties of national defence. The Beach Road Army Camp played a significant role in the transformation.
Pondok Peranakan Gelam Club
Registered on 4 April 1932, this club was set up by the Baweanese to cater for the needs of fellow immigrants from the Gelam province of Bawean Island, Indonesia. During the racial riots in 1945 and 1964, the Baweanese residents there were sheltered by their Chinese neighbours.
Pulau Sejahat, located off the north-eastern coast of Singapore, was designated as a British defence outpost. Its role was to protect the Johor Straits and the naval base at Sembawang.
Punggol Beach Massacre
On 28 February 1942, some 400 Chinese Civilians, victims of the Sook Ching purge, were killed by the Japanese on this northeastern shore.
Queen Elizabeth Walk
This was the site of sporting activities in the early days and became popular with families. In 1953, as part of the Coronation Celebrations, the seafront promenade was refurbished and renamed Queen Elizabeth Walk.
Queenstown Historic Marker
The Queenstown housing estate was one of the earliest housing estates developed around 1960 by the Singapore Improvement Trust(SIT) and subsequently the HDB. The British also set up a military camp “Buller Camp”, which was cleared in 1953.
Raffles Girls' School
Established on 4 March 1844, Raffles Girls’ School first functioned as a moral development and vocational training class at the Singapore Institution. In 1928 it moved to a new building at Queen Street.
The first school in Singapore, it was founded by Sir Stamford Raffles on 5 June 1823. It was originallly known as “The Institution”.
Commercial Square/Raffles Place
Raffles Place is the site of Singapore’s first commercial centre and became the business district for all communities. Sir Stamford Raffles drew up a Town Plan that allotted land use according to functional and ethnic divisions.
Republic of Singapore Yacht Club
Founded in 1826, this club became the Royal Singapore Yacht Club in 1922 under the patronage of the Prince of Wales, and was renamed the Republic of Singapore Yacht Club in 1967 with the first president of Singapore, Yusof bin Ishak as its patron.
Sakya Muni Buddha Gaya Temple
Vutthisara, a monk from Thailand, founded the temple in 1927. Sakya Muni Buddha Gaya Temple is also known as the temple of 1,000 lights. These lights surround a 15-metre high statue of the reclining Buddha weighing 300 tonnes.
Sarimbun Beach Landing
Following the loss of Malaya to the Japanese, northwestern Singapore became the initial battleground between the Allied Army and the Japanese and this was one of the sites in the battle for Singapore.
Seletar Airfield was the British Royal Air Force’s main base in the Far East, and equipped to protect Singapore’s naval base in Sembawang. On 7 December 1941, an Allied plane that had taken off from Seletar tracked a Japanese fleet heading to Malaya in the South China Sea.
Surrendered British gunners awaiting Japanese interment on Siloso Battery saw human bodies floating in Keppel Harbour and a number of these washed ashore on Pulau Blakang Mati (today's Sentosa Island).
Silat Road Sikh Temple
Built in 1924, this temple was the first Sikh institution in Singapore to be constructed in the traditional style of a temple with domes and arches. During the Japanese Occupation, it sheltered Sikh orphans and widows.
Sime Road Camp
Sime Road Camp was the Combined Operations Headquarters of the British Army and Air Force from early December 1941 to 11 February 1942, until the Japanese advance forced the relocation of the headquarters from its compound in Sime Road to Fort Canning.
Sime Road Machine-Gun Pillbox
This pillbox was one of a network of pillboxes that provided overlapping and interlocking fields of fire to defend Flagstaff House which was used as the Combined Operations Headquarters of the British Army.
Singapore Armed Forces Warrant Officers and Specialists Club
The British Government built the clubhouse in 1951 for British non-commissioned officers. It was handed over to Singapore Government when the British pulled out in 1969.The SAF WOSE club was formed in 1974 and was formerly known as the SAF NCO Club until it was renamed in 1994.
Singapore Badminton Hall
The Singapore Badminton Hall was built in 1951 as the venue for the Thomas Cup Tournament, and the third tournament held there at 1955. It was the site for the vote-counting for the Referendum on Singapore’s merger with Malaya, Sabah and Sarawak on 1 September 1962.
Singapore Chinese Girls’ School
This School was opened in 1899 under the auspices of a group of Straits Chinese, including Sir Song Ong Siang and Dr Lim Boon Keng. The Emerald Hill Site, which housed the school from 1925 to 1994, was the grounds of Dr Lim Boon Keng’s family home.
Singapore Chin Kang Huay Kuan
Established in 1918 by Chinese Immigrants from the Jin Jiang County of southern Fujian Province, it was the headquarters of the Overseas Chinese Mobilisation Council, formed in 1941 to help Singapore’s defence against the Japanese.
The first institution to provide technical education in Southeast Asia, Singapore Polytechnic was once situated on this site. Established as an autonomous body on 27 October 1954, the polytechnic was set to train manpower needed for Singapore’s industries.
Sook Ching Inspection Centre
This site marks one of many temporary registration centres set up by the Kempeitai (Japanese Military Police) to screen anti-Japanese Chinese.
Sri Krishnan Temple
This temple was built in 1870 and is one of the oldest Hindu temples in Singapore.
Sri Senpaga Vinayagar Temple
One of the oldest Hindu temples in Singapore, it was built in 1850. This temple was bombed during WWII and reconstructed in 1948.
St. Margaret’s School
Singapore’s oldest girls’ school was established by Mrs Dyer of the London Missionary Society in 1842. “Mui Tsai”(girls sold to servitude) were taught Christian values, homemaking skills and given elementary English education here.
Syonan Jinja, together with Syonan Chureito (a Japanese war memorial in Bukit Batok), was built in 1942 in memory of the Japanese soldiers who died fighting in the invasion of Singapore. It was named after Singapore, which was known as Syonan-To (“Light of the South”) during the Japanese Occupation (1942-1945).
Tan Tock Seng Hospital
Tan Tock Seng, a Malacca-born merchant and influential Chinese community leader and philanthropist founded the hospital on 25 July 1844. This Hospital played a significant role in the treatment of tuberculosis after WWII.
The First Public Dental Clinic and School
Dental Education and modern dentistry in Singapore began here in 1929. The original Clinic and Dental School of the King Edward VII college of Medicine had its beginnings on this site in the Norris Block of the General Hospital.
The Founding of Boys' Brigade in Singapore
Singapore’s 1st company of the Boy’s Bridgade was formed on 12 January 1930 at Prinsep Street Presbyterian Church by James Milner Fraser.
The Gate of Hope
At the small gate of the old Convent of the Holy Infant Jesus, many babies were abandoned, especially girls born in the “year of tiger” that were believed to bring bad luck to the family. The sisters adopted the babies and established the Home for Abandoned Babies.
Trinity Theological College
Trinity Theological College was born out of the camaraderie and spirit of Christianity experienced by the heads of the Anglican, Methodist and Presbyterian Churches when they were interned at Changi Prison during the Japanese Occupation.
United Chinese Library
The United Chinese Library was inaugurated at Armenian Street on 8 August 1910 by Dr. Sun Yat Sen. Initially set up to promote general knowledge and culture, it also disseminated revolutionary ideas and generated support for the Chinese Revolution against the Manchu rulers.
United Engineers Limited
Founded in 1912, United Engineers has been instrumental in designing and constructing many of the physical Structures in Singapore such as Supreme Court and Sentosa Monorail. The head office was demolished in 1991.
United Overseas Bank
First known as the United Chinese Bank. It was founded on 6 August 1935 and opened for business on 1 october 1935 in Bonham Building. In 1965, it became the United Overseas Bank and on 19 October 1974, the 30-storeyed UOB Building was officially opened.
Former Upper Barracks
This 3-Storey building, along with the Lower Barracks, on Pearl’s Hill were built in 1934 specifically as residence for the Sikh Contingent of the Straits Settlement Police.
Upper Seletar Reservoir
Singapore’s third impounding Reservoir was built to meet the surge in water demand after WWI and was completed in 1940. Princess Alexandra officially opened it on 10 August 1969 when she presented Queen Elizabeth II during the 150th anniversary celebrations.
Victoria Memorial Hall
Designed by colonial engineer, John Bennett, the theatre portion of the Victoria Theatre and Concert Hall was built as a Town Hall in 1862 which housed the Municipal Offices
Withdrawal to Singapore
During the Second World War, the last Allied military troops crossed the Johore Straits and withdrew to Singapore via the Causeway on 31 January 1942, after losing the Malayan mainland to the Japanese.
Yeung Ching School
Yeung Ching School began in 1905 as a private school for Cantonese children. Apart from conducting classes in the day, it offered night classes to children who were poor or overaged.
10 Ang Mo Kio Street 54 (Former Da Qiao Primary School)
Those living in the Ang Mo Kio HDB residential area will be familiar with Da Qiao Primary School—now known as Jing Shan Primary School. Rich in history, the school was built in the 1930s to serve the educational needs of the community.
10 Kim Keat Lane
Located at Kim Keat Lane, Sweetlands Confectionery & Bakery is one of the few remaining bakeries in Singapore which still employs traditional methods of baking bread.
10 View Road
10 View Road once provided accommodation for the British Royal Naval Police and was also known for its time as View Road Hospital.
107A Sophia Road
This little-known property, prominently located close to the Istana grounds, has contributed significantly to the nation’s progress in the educational sphere since its construction over 80 years ago.
110 Prinsep Street (Former Salmon’s Maternity Home)
The former Salmon’s Maternity Home was a private maternity hospital which contributed to the development of Singapore’s obstetrics practice.
13 Keong Saik Road
Dedicated to the 18-armed Cundhi Bodhisattva, Cundhi Gong (准提宫) was built in 1928 in the Nanyang style which incorporates Hokkien and shophouse-styled architecture.
138 Prinsep Street
Formerly located at 138 Prinsep Street, the Rochor Community Centre served nearby residents for 25 years before it shifted to its new premises in Queen’s Street.
1A Lutheran Road (Former Farrer Primary School)
The strategically located campus at 1A Lutheran Road has a long history of being a home to many of Singapore’s older schools, including Farrer Primary School. Today, a new generation of students call this campus home.
2 Kampong Kapor Road (Former Kampong Kapor Community Centre)
Formerly the home of Kampong Kapor Community Centre, the current modest white building at Kampong Kapor Road is a product of a community effort to replace the original site that was burnt down in March 1970.
20 Anderson Road (Former Raffles Girls’ School)
Raffles Girls’ School rose out of a commitment by eight individuals to rescue girls from poverty and vice, nurturing them through all-rounded education.
20 Peck Seah Street
In the heart of the city was the Qing Shan Ting(青山亭), one of the earliest Chinese cemeteries in Singapore, where the first batch of 31 Chinese settlers were laid to rest.
202 Telok Ayer Street
This site housed the Singapore Chinese Physicians Association and the Singapore Chung Hwa Medical Institution, which influenced the development of Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) in Singapore.
25 Grange Road
An abandoned Art Deco bungalow lies amidst thick shrubbery on one of Singapore’s most expensive land plots. Beautiful in its desolation, this abandoned estate was the focal point of a 40-year legal tussle.
25 Paterson Road (Former Teacher’s Training College)
The Teacher’s Training College—once a sole institution responsible for teacher’s education in Singapore—used to occupy the current site of ISS International School on 25 Paterson Road.
26 Dunearn Road (Former Singapore Family Planning and Population Board Building)
Nestled along the Rochor River, this site has played host to several institutions since its construction in 1966, including the Singapore Family Planning and Population Board (SFPPB) and the Singapore Family Planning Association (SFPA).
299 River Valley Road
This site has a diverse history — it was the residence of a well-known, eclectic Straits Chinese man before functioning as Ngee Ann Girls’ School for four decades. Now, it is home to Teo Yeonh Huai Kuan, a clan that looks after the Chao Yang community.
31 Bukit Pasoh Road (Former New Majestic Hotel)
Home to various Chinese cultural and clan associations from the 1900s, Bukit Pasoh Road earned its other nickname “Mistress Street” from mistresses who were housed there in the past.
34 Pagoda Street
The attractive red-shuttered shophouse unit at 34 Pagoda Street once reeked of opium smoke day in and day out, as addicts from all walks of life gathered here and frittered their lives away on the addictive drug.
36 Club Street
Built in 1929, the “Thoroughfare Building” also known as Tong Sum Lao (通心楼) in Cantonese was given such a name by pedestrians who used this as an access between Club Street and Mohamed Ali Lane.
36-38 Armenian Street (Former Mayfair Hotel)
These two clusters of four-storey Art Deco shophouses were built between 1930s and 1940s. Its most famous occupants, the Mayfair City Hotel opened in 1950s and established itself as a popular hotel with travellers in the 1960s.
37 Pagoda Street
Pagoda Street is one of the oldest streets in Singapore, with the shophouse unit at 37 Pagoda Street possibly being constructed in 1843. The shophouse was formerly the premises of Kwong Hup Yuen, an infamous coolie firm that was one of 12 coolie firms located in the street.
3A River Valley Road
Constructed in the 1880s, the River House is the oldest building in Clarke Quay. Carefully restored in 1993, it was granted the Urban Redevelopment Authority’s Architecture Heritage Award in 1995.Part of a row of shophouses facing the Singapore River, the River House is steeped in history and culture.
4 Harvey Road (Former Tong Nam Tobacco Co.)
Incorporating a combination of traditional and modern architectural design, the existing premises of Tong Nam Tobacco Co. bring to mind Singapore’s past as well as its progress towards being a modern city-state.
41 to 44, 46, 47, 50, 52, 53, 55 to 58 Stirling Road
These terrace houses built by the Singapore Improvement Trust (SIT) are rare as there are only 285 of such public landed residential houses in Singapore. Most of these are located in mature estates like Queenstown.
42 Waterloo Street
Modernised yet maintaining its pre-war traditional exterior, this bungalow was converted from a private residence to a place of business, before becoming a space for theatre.
449 Yio Chu Kang Road (Former Pei Hwa Public School)
From 10 students to over 1,000 Pei Hwa Public School was a small village school that grew to become one of the largest village schools in Singapore by 1976. Today, the former school’s premises are leased out for education uses.
45, 48, and 49 Stirling Road
Known as Singapore’s oldest Housing Development Board (HDB) blocks, the blocks are in an estate filled with old-world charm that was visited by foreign dignitaries such as Britain’s Prince Philip.
47 South Bridge Road
Located right next to Singapore River, shophouses such as No. 47 South Bridge Road in the Boat Quay Conservation Area, speak of a time when rooftop verandas allowed spectators to watch boat races while commercial vendors would haggle over goods on the ground floor.
4 Goodwood Hill
Built in 1960, this beautiful colonial building on the top of Goodwood Hill once served as a training centre for civil servants in topics such as Government Audit and the role of the Civil Service and Public Service Commission.
5 Oxley Rise
Currently privately owned, the grand mansion at 5 Oxley Rise has changed hands and reconstructed several times since the 1800s. Unknown to many, numerous notable figures in Singapore’s history were associated with this site.
5 Stanley Street
Built upon reclaimed land from the Telok Ayer Bay, the shophouse at 5 Stanley Street was once the office headquarters of the famed merchant and philanthropist Lee Cheng Yan.
50 Bah Soon Pah Road (Former Horticulture Service Centre)
Since the early 1900s, 50 Bah Soon Pah Road has provided a vibrant insight into Singapore’s plantation economy.
51 South Bridge Road
Standing stoically in yellow, a huge contrast to its monochrome neighbours, the shophouse unit at 51 South Bridge Road was once bustling with trade and activity.
54 - 58 Waterloo Street
This row of terrace houses is the Theatre Practice’s current residence. It used to be three separate buildings, Units 54, 56 and 58 Waterloo Street, each having their own stories from before they were renovated into one unit.
57 to 117 Killiney Road
Well known for its eateries, Killiney Road is the birthplace of Killiney Kopitiam, which is the oldest operating Hainanese coffee shop in Singapore. Jack’s Place is also another notable restaurant that has its roots here.
593 Serangoon Road
This simple two-storey shophouse is located at the corner junction of Balestier Road and Serangoon Road. With a history that dates back to the 1930s, it is home to both a private school, the Singapore Institute of Science, that it has housed since 1952, as well as a nightlife spot once iconic in the 1970s.
6 Russels Road Plantation House
Nestled within the network of small roads found at Alexandra Park estate, 6 Russels Road is one of the oldest property in Alexandra Road. It was possibly commissioned in the 1880’s and possibly built in the 1900s. Its unique architecture combines both aspects of European and Malay architectural aesthetics and is a physical reminder of Singapore’s colonial past.
600@Toa Payoh (Former Kong Chian Cinema)
Nestled in Singapore’s second satellite town, the Former Kong Chian Cinema (currently named as 600@Toa Payoh) has been an entertainment centre for people of all ages and all walks of life since its establishment in the 1970s.
70 Martaban Road
Built in the 1920s, the Mandalay Road Hospital once functioned as a teaching facility for nurses and a tuberculosis treatment centre of Tan Tock Seng Hospital.
74 Serangoon Road
Set in the midst of the Indian Community, this shophouse was home to various retail businesses throughout its history. Today, it stands as Thai Thong Pawnshop.
77 to 94A Linden Drive
The apartment blocks at Linden Drive were originally built to house staff of the University of Singapore around 1960. Today, they are managed by the Singapore Land Authority.
95 Tampines Road
Standing at 95 Tampines Road, the former Tampines Land Station (1930s–1980s) was where custom officers once lived and worked. On a day to day basis, they administered farm policy, raided and confiscated contraband goods, and imposed taxes.
Madrasah Alsagoff Al-Arabiah
Built in 1912, the school was named after Syed Mohamed bin Ahmed Alsagoff, a wealthy Arab who hailed from Hadramaut, Yemen.
Amber Hotel (Former Kim Sun Hotel)
Amber Hotel is a suburban hotel that residents of Katong would be familiar with. However, not many know that the hotel’s buildings used to be private residences in the 1930s.
Ancestral Temple of Ying Fo Fui Kun
Built in the late 19th century, the Ancestral Temple of Ying Fo Fui Kun (双龙山嘉应五属义祠) is situated at Singapore’s last remaining Hakka cemetery. Unbeknownst to many, the temple once served as a school for children of the clansmen.
Archaeological Excavation Site at Fort Canning Park
With a history of over 700 years, it is little wonder that more than 30,000 artefacts have been unearthed at the Fort Canning Site. New finds are still being turned up today, shedding light on Singapore’s distant past.
Ascott Centre for Excellence (Former Chaoyang Special School)
The compound of Ascott Centre for Excellence was originally the campus for Anthony Road Girls' School.
Balestier Plain refers to the playing fields bounded by Balestier Road from Tessensohn Road to Moulmein Road. The field, which existed since the early 1900s, had been associated with eight sports clubs over the years.
Ban Siew San Kuan Imm Tong
Perched on the midpoint of a hill for traditional geomancy reasons, Ban Siew San Kuan Imm Tong (万寿山) is one of the few remaining Hainanese temples that is more than a century old.
Bank of China Building
Though the original Bank of China building was built at a mere height of 18 storeys, it held the title as the highest skyscraper in Singapore’s Central Business District from the 50s all the way to the 70s.
Bedok Lighthouse at Lagoon View
Bedok Lighthouse is innovatively located atop a high-rise condominium in Lagoon View, that made several firsts in Singapore’s history.
Located on an outcrop at the southernmost end of Labrador Park, the iconic seven-metre tall structure at Tanjong Berlayer served as a navigational beacon for boats and ships approaching Keppel Harbour in the mid 20th century.
Bethesda Serangoon Church
Bethesda Serangoon Church, one of 20 autonomous Brethren Christian churches in Singapore, has its beginnings in the Brethren Movement in Singapore—a movement started by Philip Robinson, the co-founder of the Robinsons Department Store.
Blair Plain Conservation Area
Strategically located near the Keppel Harbour and the Tanjong Pagar railway station, those who had set up residence at Blair Road in the early 1900s were well-off traders. The Blair Plain Conservation Area has a rich array of architectural styles, with an eclectic mixture of Chinese, Malay, and European influences.
Bras Basah Complex
Bras Basah Complex was known as书城 (shu cheng, meaning “City of Books” in Mandarin) as the complex is famed for its numerous bookstores. It is also known as 百胜楼 (bai sheng lou in Mandarin).
Broadway Plaza (Former Broadway Cinema)
While younger residents of Ang Mo Kio know the building as Broadway Plaza, older residents may remember it as Broadway Cinema—the first in a group of four cinemas that operated in Ang Mo Kio.
Cairnhill Arts Centre
The three-storey high building incorporated elements of Chinese architectural such as the upturned eaves and the use of geometrical motifs on beams and wall surfaces. The building was designed by Swan & Maclaren, a prominent architectural firm in Singapore.
Capella Hotel, Singapore (Former 48, 49, 50, 51 Ironside Road)
The units 48, 49, 50 and 51 Ironside Road were formerly used as barracks for British officers before and after the Second World War. It has since been transformed into the six-star Capella Hotel.
Carmelite Monastery, which sits atop a hill at Bukit Teresa Road, has come a long way since it was established in 1938. During the Second World War, it was converted to become part of an anti-aircraft base by the British and later occupied by the Japanese.
Central Sikh Gurdwara
The Central Sikh Temple is one of two Sikh temples in Singapore that are recognised as public temples, the other being the Gurdwara Sahib Silat Road.
Chan Chor Bin Fatt Tong
Chan Chor Bin Fatt Tong stands in stark contrast to the high-rise apartments on all sides — a forgotten timeless tableau of Singapore’s migrant pioneers who, having no family of their own, forged new relationships in a foreign land.
Changi Point Footbridge
Sitting right opposite Changi Beach, the iconic Changi Point Footbridge at Changi Creek has been around since the 1930s and is surrounded by a chilling urban myth.
Changi Sailing Club
Local sail boats such as koleks and jongs were once used for sailing at the Changi Garrison Yacht Club—today’s Changi Sailing Club. Regular races were held among British military personnel from the late 1930s to early 1940s.
The seaside cottage was formerly part of the Royal Air Force’s (RAF) Changi military family area in the 1930s to 1960s.
Chatsworth Park Conservation Area
The 27 conserved bungalows in the Chatsworth Park Conservation Area were built in the 1920s and 1930s. These bungalows were mainly designed in the Art Deco and ‘black and white’ styles, to house expatriate staffs of firms such as the Straits Trading Company, Cable & Wireless, McAlister & Co. and Firestone Rubber Company.
Christian Community Chapel (Former Ciros Cinema)
The Christian Community Chapel’s unique appearance reflects its interesting history. Converted from a former cinema, the church building has retained some of its original design features and architectural style.
Church of Christ of Malaya
Built in 1959, the Church of Christ of Malaya is a historical landmark that is associated with the start of modern Singapore architecture. The Church is easily distinguished by its asymmetrical design.
Church of Saint Francis Xavier and Kindergarten
The Church of St Francis Xavier, located within the neighbourhood of Serangoon Gardens, has seen the development of both its population of parishioners and church infrastructure.
The corporate headquarters of SingTel is distinguished by the microwave dishes mounted at the top of its tower, which link the centre with dishes across Singapore and the region, including those at the Sentosa earth satellite station, St John’s Island and even Gunung Pulai in West Malaysia.
Communicable Disease Centre 1
Frequent outbreaks of diseases such as typhoid, cholera and malaria prompted the British Administration to establish the Government Infectious Disease Camp in 1907 along Balestier Road. The facility was moved to its present site in 1913.
Eunos Community Club
Identifiable by its striking Minangkabau-style roof, Eunos Community Club is a hub of activity and functions as a common space for Eunos residents.
The Majestic (previously known as the Majestic Theatre) is a major Chinatown landmark with a long history closely connected to Singaporean pioneer Eu Tong Sen. Its architecture features a mix of Cantonese and Western influences that reflect how both cultures impacted the Straits Chinese of Singapore. The Majestic Theatre (大华戏院) has also lived through much of Singapore’s modern history, and reflects Singapore’s transformation from a small colony to a modern metropolis.
Customs Operations Command
Built in 1940s, this colonial building served as the headquarters of several enforcement branches of the Singapore Customs from the 1960s to 2019.
Dance Ensemble Singapore
Like many buildings in the area, the colonial bungalow at 60 Waterloo Street was once a private residence before being converted into a commercial space. Now, as part of an initiative to create an arts belt in the Waterloo Street area, it houses Dance Ensemble Singapore (DES).
Delta Sports Centre
Unbeknownst to many, the Delta Sports Centre was once famed for its indoor sports hall — the first of its kind to be constructed by the Housing and Development Board (HDB).
Dutch Pavilion at Shangri-La Hotel
Hidden within Shangri-La’s luxurious gardens is a historical gem known as the Dutch Pavilion, contrasted in 1928. Deliberately preserved in its original state, the humble building was, for 58 years, the premier Dutch school in Singapore before it was acquired by the Shangri-La Hotel in 1986.
Few have had the privilege of entering the grounds of Eden Hall–an elusive turn-of-the-century mansion hidden within the lush foliage of Nassim Road. Originally constructed by a Jewish magnate, the house is now the official residence of the British High Commissioner in Singapore.
Situated at the junction of Selegie Road, Middle Road and Short Street, the three-storey Elias building transports one back to a forgotten past and provides a glimpse of the area that was once referred to as the Mahallah, or ‘place’ in Arabic.
ERA APAC Centre (Former Toa Payoh Cinema)
The building that now houses the headquarters of real estate company ERA Asia Pacific has its beginnings as one of the first few cinemas located in the heartlands of Singapore.
Fairfield Methodist Church (Former Metropole Cinema)
The site of Fairfield Methodist Church was formerly Metropole, otherwise known as Jing Hwa Cinema.
Far East Shopping Centre
Far East Shopping Centre is one of eight properties along Orchard Road owned by Far East Organisation. Built in 1974, the centre was the largest development in the area at the time, and the first shopping centre in Singapore to house an atrium and external escalators.
Former Bestway Building
Hidden amongst the skyscraper-lined Central Business District centre is the former Bestway Building at Prince Edward Road. This was once home to Singapore’s first Polytechnic.
Former Catholic High School (51 Waterloo Street, 8 Queen Street and 222 Queen Street)
The three buildings—51 Waterloo Street, 8 Queen Street and 222 Queen Street—are part of the former site of Catholic High School and encompass a great deal of heritage within their grounds.
Former Catholic High School (SAM@8Q)
The current Singapore Art Museum (SAM) at 8Q was previously one of the buildings of the Catholic High School — an institution that dates back to the 1930s and have nurtured many leaders and professionals in various fields.
Former Farrer Park Swimming Complex
Built in 1957, Farrer Park Swimming Complex is one of the first public swimming complexes in Singapore. It is currently managed privately by APS Swim School, founded by Olympian Ang Peng Siong.
Former Fullerton Lighthouse Lantern at Mapletree Business City
Built in 1958, the Fullerton Lighthouse was installed atop the former Fullerton Building (Fullerton Hotel) at the mouth of the Singapore River as a navigational aid to guide ships into Singapore’s harbour.
Former National Aerated Water Company Factory
The former National Aerated Water Company (NAWC) Factory was a well-known local landmark along Serangoon Road. This bottling factory produced popular soft drinks such as Kickapoo Joy Juice, until a lost lawsuit eventually shut down its operations. The main building was gazetted on 9 February 2018.
Former National Library (Stamford Road) Entrance Pillars
The entrance pillars standing within the Singapore Management University’s campus used to mark the entrance of the former National Library at Stamford Road.
Former Park Mall
The former Park Mall on 9 Penang Road was a furniture mall that was demolished to make way for a new mixed-use development that will accommodate 15,000 square feet of retail space and house the new UBS Singapore HQ on 8 floors of office space.
Former Pearl Bank Apartments
Once known as the tallest apartment building in the entire Southeast Asia, the former Pearl Bank Apartments used to house almost 2,000 residents.
Former Selegie Integrated Primary School
The building was once famed as Southeast Asia’s tallest skyscraper school. Its pragmatic architectural style stands out as a prime example of industrial modernism, which mimics the efficient style of the machinery aesthetic.
Former Site of Haw Par Villa Swimming Pool
Older Singaporeans will remember Haw Par Swimming Pool as a popular attraction near Pasir Panjang Road. The pool operated from 1940 to 1959, and was a favourite swimming ground for those living in the area.
Former Yan Kit Swimming Pool
A single-storey “C”-shaped Art Deco building is all that remains of Yan Kit Swimming Complex — once the nation’s largest and most up-to-date swimming venue. Closed in 2001, it is best remembered for its unique architectural form and coloured mosaic tiles.
Former Brunei Hostel
Located at the end of Tanglin Road, the Brunei hostel was constructed by the Brunei government in the mid-1950s to provide accommodation for Brunei students studying in Singapore. The hostel opened in 1958 and was known as Asrama Kerajaan Brunei di Singapura (AKBS) or Tanglin (Hill) Brunei Hostel amongst locals.
Fort Canning Centre
Originally constructed in 1926 as a British army barracks, Fort Canning Centre has since undergone major transformation; British and local soldiers, squash players, dancers and actors once utilised the building.
Fort Canning Service Reservoir
It is difficult to imagine the formidable structure of the Fort Canning Service Reservoir, buried beneath the grassy plateau of Fort Canning Hill. Able to hold up to 30 million gallons of water, this underground storage tank was once one of the largest covered reservoirs in the world.
GB Point (Former Mandarin Theatre)
GB Point, which sits at the junction of Kallang Bahru and Geylang Bahru, used to house Mandarin Theatre—one of the oldest cinemas in Singapore operated by cinema giant, Eng Wah Organisation.
Giok Hong Tian Temple (Geok Hong Tian Temple) also known as Jade Emperor Temple of Havelock Road
Couples looking to conceive often visit Giok Hong Tian Temple on Havelock Road, as it is believed that prayers made in the temple will come true.
Goh Loo Club
This 998m2, three-storey restored shophouse is home to the 114-year-old Goh Loo Club, once a favourite gathering place for many prominent Chinese in Singapore, including the philanthropist Lee Kong Chian.
Goodman Arts Centre (former Laselle College of the Arts)
Three schools occupied the site which now houses the Goodman Arts Centre.
Goodwood Hill Estate
This cluster of 26 pre-war ‘Black and White’ colonial bungalows was the location for several government initiatives regarding political study and networking. For instance, the set-up of a political study centre for civil servants at No. 4 Goodwood Hill and the ‘Pyramid Club at No. 2 Goodwood Hill.
Grave of Mrs Tan Quee Lan
The grave of Mrs Tan Quee Lan is a traditional Southern Chinese tomb standing on the hilly lawn near Sian Tuan Avenue.
Grave of Penghulu Tok Lasam
The grave of Penghulu Lasam is located at Jalan Sempadan. Next to the grave are his wife and Tok Lasam’s Panglima (Commander-in-chief). There are several legends surrounding Tok Lasam.
Grave of Tan Tock Seng
Seemingly inconspicuous, one of Singapore’s most recognisable pioneers is buried at this location, right next to the busy Outram Road.
Grave Stones and Structures at Fort Canning Park
One of the first Christian cemeteries in Singapore, Fort Canning Christian Cemetery is the final resting place for Christians who lived in early Singapore, such as George Coleman and Jose d’Almeida. While the original gravestones are no longer in place, remnants of the old cemetery, such as the two Gothic gates and dome-shaped cupolas, still remain.
Gurdwara Sri Guru Nanak Satsang Sabha
A grand-looking building conveniently located in the residential streets of Katong, Gurdwara Sri Guru Nanak Satsang Sabha was converted from a bungalow to serve as a religious hub for the Sikhs in the area.
Gurdwara Sri Guru Singh Sabha
Established in 1918, the Gurdwara Sri Guru Singh Sabha has been in existence as a religious association in Singapore for over 100 years. It testifies to the growth of Singapore’s Sikh community, from its earliest days to the present day.
Harvester Baptist Church
A former hotel turned place of worship; the building currently houses the Harvester Baptist Church.
Haw Par Villa
Haw Par Villa is located on a hill side in Pasir Panjang. It originally comprised a villa designed by architect Ho Kwang Yew and a large garden space. The compound was a gift from Mr Aw Boon Haw to his younger brother Mr Aw Boon Par.
Henderson Industrial Park
Its central location and lush greenery set Henderson Industrial Park apart from other industrial estates.
Ho Lim Keng Temple
Ho Lim Keng Temple has its roots in Tras Street, where it hosted festive celebrations for many years. The temple moved to its new home in Outram Hill in 1975 and has taken on a more unconventional, modern appearance.
Hock Teck Tong Temple / Kusu Tua Pek Kong
Hock Teck Tong Temple is believed to be established in the early 1930s and has links to Kusu Island. The temple’s main deity, Tua Pek Kong, was worshipped in the Chinese temple in Kusu Island for many years, before Hock Teck Tong Temple was set up in mainland Singapore for the convenience of the devotees.
Hock Teck See Temple
Colourful porcelain pieces depicting several Chinese motifs adorn the roof of Hock Teck See Temple (aka Fook Tet Soo Khek Temple), possibly the oldest Chinese Hakka temple in Singapore. Artefacts from the 19th and 20th century were also discovered here during an archaeological initiative.
The Hollandse Club was founded in 1908 by Mr J.C. Koopman for the growing Dutch community in Singapore.
Home Team Career Centre
The three-storey Neoclassical former Fairfield Methodist Girl's School features a rarely-seen broken pediment and urn ornament on the top of the building's central bay. It was the second building used by the Fairfield Methodist School.
Hong Lim Park
Located in Chinatown, Hong Lim Park bears a long legacy of political and cultural activities significant to the Singapore story. The park is perhaps better known for the Speakers’ Corner — the first and only location in Singapore where public speeches can be given without a Public Entertainment Licence.
House on The Hill Pre-School (Former Nan Hwa Girls’ High School)
While younger Singaporeans know this building as a pre-school, older Singaporeans will remember this building as Nan Hwa Girls’ High School—a school that provided many girls in Singapore with the opportunity of an education.
Located along Peirce Road, the timeless beauty of a restored pre-1920s tropical Tudorbethan bungalow continues to remain relevant in the present day.
ISS International School (Preston Campus)
During Singapore’s post-war years, this school compound once housed the Bourne School (Alexandra Section) – attended by the children of the British forces.
Situated at the Kallang Basin next to the National Stadium, Kallang Theatre was once the biggest theatre space in Singapore. It also hosted the annual National Day Rally address by then-Prime Ministers Lee Kuan Yew and Goh Chok Tong from 1986 to 2000.
Kampong Glam Community Club
The Kampong Glam Community Club was first established in 1960 at Beach Road. It was relocated to Victoria Street in 1972, and moved back to a different site on Beach Road in 1998. Kampong Glam Community Club is home to a prominent Northern-style Lion Dance troupe and also frequently organises interfaith events.
Kheng Chiu Building and Tin Hou Kong
The Kheng Chiu building houses the Kheng Chiu Tin Hou Kong (琼州天后宫), a Chinese temple dedicated to the Chinese seafaring goddess Mazu, and the Kheng Chiu Hwee Kuan (琼州会馆), the main Hainanese clan association in Singapore.
Kim Seng Bridge
Its modern utilitarian appearance belies the warmth and charity of Tan Kim Seng — a pioneer renowned for his philanthropy and contributions to early Singaporean society.
Kim Mui Hoey Kuan
In 1919, clansmen from Kim Mui (金门) County established the clan association at their clan temple at Smith Street, which was founded in 1876.
Kong Chow Wui Koon
The premise is home to one of Singapore’s oldest clan associations that serves the vital functions of promoting and safeguarding heritage, education, and outreach to the community beyond its clansmen.
Koon Seng Ting Temple
Koon Seng Ting, a historical temple located in Telok Blangah, opened its doors to orphaned or abandoned baby girls and majies (women who took a vow of celibacy) when it was first completed in 1881.
Kreta Ayer Neighbourhood Police Post
Built in the 1930s, this building served as a post office until 1988. Today, the building serves as a neighbourhood police post and manages permits for anyone seeking to use the nearby Speaker’s Corner.
Kreta Ayer People's Theatre
Kreta Ayer People’s Theatre is synonymous with Chinese theatrical arts and operas performed in ‘dialects’, particularly in Cantonese.
Liat Towers, whose first phase was completed just weeks after Singapore gained independence in 1965, is known for being the site of the country’s first McDonald’s branch in 1979, and first Starbucks outlet in 1996.
Lim Ah Pin Road Post Office
Standing out in a sea of modernistic private estates, this humble post office branch has served residents of the neighbourhood since 1968. Its iconic box-like industrial architecture stripped of ornamentation is favoured during the 1960s.
Lim Teck Lee Building
Spanning units 2 to 5 Circular Road today, the Lim Teck Lee Building was constructed in the mid-1930’s. The brand remains in existence since 1918.
Macpherson Road Post Office
One of many similar community-based post offices all over Singapore, the Macpherson Road Post Office was opened by Aljunied assemblyman Mr. S. V. Lingam in 1963. In 1977, the site was victim to an armed robbery, in which over $10,000 was taken.
Makam Puteri Radin Mas (Keramat Radin Mas)
Keramat Radin Mas houses the shrine of Radin Mas Ayu, who according to the Malay Annals, was a 16th Century Javanese Princess. Radin Mas means “golden princess” and Ayu means “beautiful”. True to her name, the princess shielded her father from being stabbed and in turn sacrificed her life in exchange.
Identifiable by its distinct blue and white exterior, Masjid An-Nur’s minaret is one of the tallest in Singapore and is even visible from Johor Bahru, Malaysia.
Identifiable by its distinct blue and white exterior, Masjid An-Nur’s minaret is one of the tallest in Singapore and is even visible from Johor Bahru, Malaysia.
Masjid Haji Muhammad Salleh & Keramat Habib Noh
During the colonial period, pilgrims from as far as China and the Dutch East Indies have stopped by to pay their respects at Keramat Habib Noh, the burial site of one of Singapore’s revered Muslim saints.
Masjid Omar Kampong Melaka
Tucked away in the heart of the city, next to the Ministry of Manpower is Singapore’s oldest mosque. The original building was built in 1820, just one year after Raffles set foot on the island.
Masjid Petempatan Melayu Sembawang
One of the last vestiges of a Malay kampung mosque in Singapore, the Masjid Petempatan Melayu Sembawang — hidden far off from the main road — has outlived the kampung it once served.
Masjid Tasek Utara
Despite being one of the smallest mosque in Singapore, with a capacity of about 120 congregants, Masjid Tasek Utara has a rich history of serving its community for more than a century. The mosque was given a facelift in 2016 and continues to be used by the community for Friday prayers and other religious events.
Masjid Tentera Diraja
Masjid Tentera Diraja or Tentera Diraja Mosque traces its roots to the Muslims serving in the British Army before Singapore’s independence. This is also evident in the use of "Tentera Diraja" meaning the King's Army in Malay.
Maxwell Road Food Centre
Maxwell Food Centre is an iconic culinary landmark in Singapore. However, few know that it began as a wet market of a bygone era.
Merdeka Lions (base of the SAFTI Military Institute Tower)
From 1956 to 1966, the Merdeka Lions stood at the base of tall stone monuments of blue mosaic found on both ends of the Merdeka Bridge. The lions were later removed to make way for the widening of the bridge and the adjoining Nicoll Highway.
This unassuming mall near Orchard Road was once a hotbed for Singapore’s rock music scene, as it housed a hip “live” concert venue for popular local bands.
Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Tanglin Village
The former Tanglin Barracks and Tanglin Officers’ Mess are situated on the site of a former nutmeg estate which was known as Mount Harriet in 1850s.
Mountbatten Centre (Former Kallang Primary School)
Parents who live in the area will know Mountbatten Centre as an educational hub with childcare centres. Not many people know that it is a former school campus that housed the Kallang Primary School.
Mount Emily Villa
Also known the Osborne House, the building had been used as the Japanese Consul-General Office before the Second World War and was subsequently occupied by the Social Welfare Department.
Mount Imbiah Battery
The Mount Imbiah Battery began life as an Infantry Redoubt in the 1880s, manned by 82 infantry soldiers and 19 gunners responsible for manning its coastal gun.
Nanyang Sacred Union Building
The Nanyang Sacred Union Building is open to members only and opens its doors to the public once a year in an elaborate affair for the annual celebration of Confucius’s birthday.
Newton Food Centre
The Newton Food Centre is one of the earliest hawker centres built in 1971. In its early days, the hawker centre was promoted by the Singapore Tourism Promotion Board as a destination to sample Singaporean cuisine.
Old Changi Hospital (24, 37, 161 Halton Road)
While most Singaporeans know Old Changi Hospital as the site where local dramas and horror movies were filmed, not many know that the site was originally constructed as part of a military base built by the British forces in the 1930s.
Orchard Road Presbyterian Church
The Orchard Road Presbyterian Church was constructed in 1878.
Pasir Panjang Wholesale Centre
Pasir Panjang Wholesale Centre is Singapore’s main wholesale market and distribution point for imported fruits and vegetables. Over 40 percent of Singapore’s fruit and vegetable imports pass through the centre, with the remaining 60 percent of produce being sold by independent retailers and other importers who have their own premises.
Paya Lebar Office Centre
Located at the busy junction of Sims Avenue and Paya Lebar Road, the former Geylang Fire Station has witnessed the rapid transformation of Paya Lebar’s infrastructure over the years.
Paya Lebar Airbase (formerly Singapore International Airport)
The Paya Lebar Airport was developed between 1952 and 1955. It was regarded as a symbol of the then-colony’s post-war rapid development and modernisation.
Popularly known as ‘Little Myanmar’, Peninsula Plaza was the first building in Singapore to have outdoor escalators and a car lift.
Peninsula Shopping Complex (3 to 5 Coleman Street)
Coleman Street, which spans from Armenian Street to St Andrew’s road, was named after George D. Coleman, Singapore’s first Superintendent of Public Works and Prison Warden. 3 to 5 Coleman Street was the site of the Former Hotel de la Paix. Today, it is the address of Peninsula Shopping Complex.
People's Park Complex
The People's Park Complex was completed in 1973 and was regarded as an emblem of Asian Modernism.
Plaza Singapura opened in 1974. It was developed by DBS Land, and was one of the first shopping centres in Singapore.
Police Logistics Department (Police Logistics Base) (Former Hemmant Road Police Store)
Have you ever wondered where do all the lost and found items reported to the police go to? The answer is an elongated two storey building at No 1, Hemmant Road, home to the Singapore Police Force’s Found and Unclaimed Property Office.
Punggol Rock Shrine
Concealed within the greenery of Punggol Point, a massive boulder–covered by a large yellow cloth and accompanied by an altar at its base–is believed to have been worshipped by devotees of animism since the 1800s.
Raintr33 Hotel Singapore (Part of Former Hendon Camp)
In colonial times, this building at the east of Singapore housed the British Royal Engineers, and later became part of Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) Hendon Camp. In 2013, the building was converted into a boutique hotel.
SEAMEO Regional Language Centre
The Regional Language Centre began as the Regional English Language Centre (RELC) in 1968. It was first conceived during the 2nd conference of the Southeast Asian Ministers of Education in Manila organised by the Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organisation (SEAMEO).
Remnants of Former Gate and Wall of Fort Canning (Fort Canning Hill/Bukit Larangan)
One of Singapore’s first British-built fortifications, Fort Canning was the site of many significant milestones in Singapore history, such as Lieutenant-General Arthur Percival’s decision to surrender to the Japanese.
Opened in 1946, the Rex Cinemas was once one of Singapore’s most popular entertainment haunts, which attracted large crowds from all walks of life. Though a decline in business forced the Rex to close in 1983, it has served various functions at different points in time, namely a performance house for singers, an ice-skating rink, a church, a disco and a specialty cinema that screened only Hindi and Tamil movies.
S. P. Jain School of Global Management
From serving as a residential estate for British military personnel – to providing a campus for higher-learning, there are countless stories hidden within the colonial walls of what is currently known as the S. P. Jain School of Global Management.
Saint Joseph’s Church (Bukit Timah)
Built in the 1846 by French missionaries, St Joseph’s Church later went through several renovations to cater to its budding parish. It was also where the passionate Father Joachim Teng served for two decades during the post-war era.