Upper Serangoon Market was formerly located along Simon Road. Built in 1948, the market served the needs of the population living in Singapore’s north-eastern region and was known for its poultry sellers until it ceased operations in 1999. Near the market was a row of single-storey terraced units that housed provision shops, eateries and motoring workshops. Today, this row of terraced units is the only building that remains of the former market area.
From National Monuments to memories of diverse communities who call Hougang home, these three thematic trails are designed to bring you on a journey of discovery. Explore Hougang beyond its modern housing estates, trace its stories through its built heritage, and get to know how it transformed from kampongs into the suburb it is today.
Explore the Suggested Short Trail Routes:
- Landmarks of Hougang, 1 hour with public transport
- Architectural Gems, 1 hour 45 min with public transport
- Institutions of Service, 1 hour 30 min with public transport
Trail Booklet and Trail Maps
- Hougang Heritage Trail Booklet
- Hougang Heritage Trail Map - English
- Hougang Heritage Trail Map - Chinese
- Hougang Heritage Trail Map - Malay
- Hougang Heritage Trail Map - Tamil