Admiralty House 1
345 Old Nelson Road
Get Directions

The Former Admiralty House was constructed between 1939 and 1940 by the British Royal Navy. It was built to house the most senior officer at the former Sembawang Naval Base, and was originally known as Navy House or Canberra House (after the nearby Canberra Road).

After World War II, the building was renamed as Nelson House (after Horatio Nelson, a famous admiral) and served as the residence of the Flag Officer for Malaya until 1958, when it became known as Admiralty House. The building was declared a National Monument in 2002.

The architect of the Former Admiralty House is unknown, but the building shows the influence of the 19th-century arts and crafts architectural movement in its asymmetrical design and use of a variety of natural materials. The latter can be seen in the exposed brickwork of the upper storey, which offers a warm contrast to the pale stucco (plaster) walls at the ground level.

The house’s first occupants were Ernest John Spooner, Rear-Admiral, Malaya, and his wife Megan Foster, who arrived in 1941. Between 1958 and 1971, Admiralty House was the residence of the Commander-in-Chief of Britain’s Far East Fleet, which was based at Sembawang Naval Base. It then became ANZUK House from 1971 to 1974, when it was occupied by the commander of a combined force from Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom.

Today, the building is part of an integrated community hub called Bukit Canberra.

Explore the Suggested Short Trail Routes:


Sembawang Heritage Trail Booklet
Sembawang Heritage Trail Map - English
Sembawang Heritage Trail Map - Chinese
Sembawang Heritage Trail Map - Malay
Sembawang Heritage Trail Map - Tamil
Sembawang Heritage Trail Markers - Chinese
Sembawang Heritage Trail Markers - Malay
Sembawang Heritage Trail Markers - Tamil