Masjid Haji Yusoff


Masjid Haji Yusoff
2 Hillside Dr
Get Directions

Built in 1921, Masjid Haji Yusoff is the oldest mosque in Hougang. The land on which it was constructed was donated by Gujarati merchant and philanthropist, Ahmad Mohamed Salleh Angullia. Born in Singapore in 1874, Angullia was also prominent in civic affairs. He was a Justice of the Peace, a member of the Municipal Commission and a trustee of various mosques and Muslim organisations.

Since its establishment, the mosque has been an important landmark in Hougang. For the residents of former Malay-Muslim villages in the area, such as Kampong Haji Sirat at Jansen Road, the mosque was a spiritual and social centre. Chinese residents in Hougang also referred to the area around the mosque as Sembahyang Tng, which combined the Malay word for “prayers” with the Hokkien word for “pavilion”.

In the 1930s, Madrasah Al-Arabiah Al-Islamiah was established on the grounds of the mosque. The religious school catered to some 40 students living in Hougang. The madrasah subsequently merged with another madrasah, Madrasah Ulumul Quran, and relocated to Toa Payoh. The merged institution continues to retain the name Madrasah Al-Arabiah Al-Islamiah today.

With urban redevelopment in Hougang, the mosque also saw growing numbers of worshippers as the population of Muslims living in the area increased dramatically. In 1994, the mosque underwent reconstruction to increase its capacity and added more facilities like classrooms. Today, it continues to serve the Muslims residents of Hougang.

From National Monuments to memories of diverse communities who call Hougang home, these three thematic trails are designed to bring you on a journey of discovery. Explore Hougang beyond its modern housing estates, trace its stories through its built heritage, and get to know how it transformed from kampongs into the suburb it is today.

Explore the Suggested Short Trail Routes:


Trail Booklet and Trail Maps

Trail Markers