Originally located along Orchard Road, Sri Vairavimada Kaliamman Temple relocated to Toa Payoh in 1982. The temple’s primary deity is Kali, whose sculpture occupies the central position in the temple’s majestic gopuram (entrance tower).
2001 Lorong 8 Toa Payoh
Get Directions

Established in the 1860s, Sri Vairavimada Kaliamman Temple has its origins in a choultree (rest area) in the Orchard area, which served Hindus in the locality before evolving into a temple to worship the goddess Kaliamman.

The temple was first constructed near the junction of Killiney Road and Orchard Road, before relocating to Somerset Road in 1921 and Toa Payoh in 1982. Its first consecration ceremony was held in March 1986. Under an initiative by the Hindu Endowments Board, the temple was also the first institution in Singapore to offer Tamil and English classes through the Saraswathy kindergarten in 1990.

Sri Vairavimada Kaliamman Temple’s gopuram (entrance tower) features a statue of its main deity Kaliamman. Its sanctums enshrine Kaliamman, Vinayagar, Murugan, Swamy Ayyappan, Guruvayurappan, Durgai Amman, Periachi Amman, Angala Parameswari and Madurai Veeran among other deities.

Today, major festivals celebrated at the temple include Navakshri Homam, dedicated to Kaliamman’s nine forms, and Brahmotsavam, an annual festival where Kaliamman is honored and involves a symbolic cleansing or renovation of the temple, kodiyettram (flag raising) and a chariot procession that travels through Toa Payoh and other areas.

Explore the Suggested Short Trail Routes: