These former rural landmarks, which trace their origins to the former Chye Kay and Nee Soon villages, are still integral parts of Yishun’s communities today.
Chiu Siang Wah Sua Temple
This area was once a large rural settlement named after pioneering pineapple planter Tan Chye Kay. A major landmark in Chye Kay Village was Chu Siang Tong Temple, founded in 1950. The temple later moved to Lorong Kumala in the 1960s and to this site in 1987.
Also known as Wu Hu (“Five Tiger”) Temple, its principal deities are the “five tiger generals” of China’s Three Kingdoms period, and five tiger statues guard its entrance.
Teochew Memorial Park
This area also formerly had a Teochew cemetery called Guang De Shan. Run by Ngee Ann Kongsi, the cemetery was converted in the 1950s into the Teochew Memorial Park to honour the deceased.
The park features a distinctive pagoda-like tower built in 1962 and designed by local architect Ng Keng Siang. Ngee Ann Kongsi holds annual prayer ceremonies here to honour its pioneers.
Chong Pang Combined Temple
Built in 1996, Chong Pang Combined Temple comprises five temples with histories tracing back to Nee Soon Village, including Jia Zhui Kang Dou Mu Gong Feng Shan Si Temple.
Every year during the ninth lunar month, this temple organises a street procession through Yishun for the Nine Emperor Gods festival. During this procession, devotees visit other temples (Chinese, Hindu and Sikh) in Yishun as a mark of respect. The festival ends with a grand sending-off of the deities with a blazing dragon boat at Sembawang Beach.
Explore the trail on MyMaps
Suggested Short Trails
Explore the Suggested Short Trail Routes:
- Rockets And Reservoirs, 1 hour with public transport (6 km)
- Yishun Ring Route, 2.5 hours with public transport (7.1 km)
Downloads
Yishun Heritage Trail Booklet
Yishun Heritage Trail Map - English











