Ang Mo Kio Heritage Trail - Scenic Fringes

Originally named Kalang River Reservoir, it was completed in 1910 and officially opened in 1912 as Singapore's second impounding reservoir.
Formerly a rubber plantation, Sembawang Hills Estate was jointly developed in the 1950s by Bukit Sembawang Rubber Estates and Singapore United Rubber Estates, rubber companies which expanded into housing development as rubber production declined.
Completed in 1969, Teachers’ Housing Estate was developed by Singapore Teachers’ Union (STU). Roads in the estate were named after personalities such as Tu Fu, Rabindranath Tagore, and Munshi Abdullah, who were well-known literary figures.
Completed in 1989, Liuxun Sanhemiao is a joint temple formed by three temples, Sam Ann Fu, Longxuyan Jinshuiguan and Hong San Chin Huat Temple Association. The temples were formerly from Lak Xun, a village in Yio Chu Kang near present-day Lentor Avenue.
Developed in the 1950s by Singapore United Estates, a subsidiary of Singapore United Rubber Plantations Ltd, Seletar Hills Estate was built after the success of Sembawang Hills Estate.
Serangoon Gardens is a private housing estate built in the 1950s that has since become a well-known food haven.

This is a self-guided trail.

From private housing estates built in the 1950s and 1960s to serene greenery, the fringes of bustling Ang Mo Kio showcase another side of the new town and its surroundings. This trail takes you on a scenic route to explore the outskirts of Ang Mo Kio.

Explore the Suggested Short Trail Routes:

- Iconic Landmarks, 1.5 hours with public transport (5.5km)
- Hidden Heartland Gems, 1.75 hours with public transport (7.5km)
- Scenic Fringes, 2.5 hours with public transport (12km)


Ang Mo Kio Heritage Trail Booklet
Ang Mo Kio Heritage Trail Map - English