A street scene in front of the Central Fire Station

Opened in 1909, the Central Fire Station on Hill Street was equipped with garage space for the first motorised fire engines along with staff quarters and a watchtower. The iconic red and white building, nicknamed “Blood and Bandage”, was made of exposed red bricks and bricks covered with plaster and painted white. The fire station was gazetted as a national monument on 18 December 1998.