Darjah Utama Temasek Medal (star) that belonged to the late Mr Lim Kim San

The Darjah Utama Temasek (Order of Temasek), instituted in 1962, is Singapore’s highest civilian honour. There are three grades of the Order of Temasek – First, Second and Third Class – and it is conferred on Singaporean citizens and honorary non-Singaporeans by the President. Distinguished persons admitted to the Order include former President of Singapore Dr. Wee Kim Wee, former Deputy Prime Ministers of Singapore Dr. Goh Keng Swee and S. Rajaratnam, and Queen Elizabeth II.Seen here is the star of Singapore's first Darjah Utama Temasek, bestowed by the President in 1962 on the late Mr Lim Kim San, former Cabinet Minister and first Chairman of the Housing and Development Board (HDB). Under his leadership, HDB was successful in providing low-cost housing for the vast population of Singapore in the 1960s. Mr Lim also held many portfolios during his illustrious public service career—National Development, Finance, Interior and Defence, Education, Environment and Communications.