The Fullerton Building was opened on 27 June 1928 and named after Robert Fullerton, the first Governor of the Straits Settlements. One of its first tenants was the General Post Office. A unique feature of the post office is the underpass built beneath Fullerton Road to link the post office to the pier, which made the transportation of mail from the ship to the post office (and vice versa) more convenient and efficient. Other tenants included the Singapore Club and government departments. Today, it is a five-star hotel known as The Fullerton Hotel Singapore.